Fall Retreat! 

This weekend was for sure a blast. Two nights of camping and three days of adventures at Roman Nose State Park. I tagged along with Isaac’s youth group. They take me in like I’m one of their own. It makes me feel so warm inside and I appreciate them so much. There’s so many things I enjoyed about this weekend, but here’s a few. 

  1. Yummy food; smores, taco bowls, breakfast burritos, popcorn, hot dogs, and so much more. ALL COOKED OVER A CAMP FIRE! I never knew so many things could be cooked over a fire, it blew my mind to be honest with you.
  2. Singing around a campfire, definitely my favorite thing about camping. Especially worship music. When you stop singing for a moment and everything seems absolutely perfect; everyone’s voices harmonizing, the guitar strumming, the fire blazing, the smell of campfire,  and the Holy Spirit in the atmosphere around us. it’s just such a wonderful feeling. 
  3. HIKING! Tiring, but so much fun. About a 5 mile hike, and in this lovely 70 degree fall weather it was so nice. 
  4. Learning about our gracious God. This weekend we talked about the voice of God being small not large. To look for it in the places we don’t expect it to be found. We also dug deeper into the Ten Commandments, and the correspondence between them and the Lords Prayer; the spiritual and physical elements of them. Last but not least we talked about Luke 10:27.        “He answered, “ ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ ” We talked about how we really need to put this into play in our lives. All three were well-rounded and very informative. They definitely impacted my faith and made me think about things a little bit more.
  5. Fellowship with friends. Of course spending time with Isaac is always great, but I have formed bonds with so many people there. Laughing until your belly hurts and you’re crying is always wonderful, ALWAYS. 
  6. Not having to deal with the outside world. No technology or any other distractions. Just the outdoors, wonderful people, and myself. 

Of course there was downs to the trip as well. I forgot my digital camera and didn’t have it to take pictures (got the ones below from someone else), no coffee, it got down to 43 degrees Friday night, not getting to shower for two nights, and the worst was having to walk half a mile to the bathroom. 

All in all, it was a wonderful trip. 50 hours of escape, fellowship, and growing in my faith. Adventures and memories added to my book.  

   

Leave a Reply

